The New River Valley Detention Commission is a public body corporate under the laws of the Commonwealth of Virginia. The Counties of Montgomery, Giles and Pulaski and the City of Radford provided for the establishment of the Commission pursuant to §16.1-315, code of Virginia (1950), as amended.

The purpose of the Commission is to own, operate, and manage a juvenile detention facility. The Commission is governed by a seven member board, three from Montgomery, two from Pulaski and one from both Giles and Radford. Our commission holds regular meetings on the third Wednesday of even numbered months. The meetings are at Noon and are located at the Montgomery County Government Center.  Special meetings are called as necessary.

S. Rebecca Hughes, Chair

L. Carol Edmonds
Alexandrea Strickler
Potsie Smith

Anthony Akers
Kevin Heller

James Armentrout